Graduate series: how our students are putting their 200 hour Yoga Teacher Training certificate to use

Recent graduate of Yoga Teacher Training Newfoundland & Labrador Megan Morgan explains how she’s using her experience and education to bring yoga to her community:

DSC01648

Megan practicing on beautiful Fogo Island

“A 200 hr YTT offers a wealth of opportunities once you are finished!! Find what is authentic to you, and make your own path.

 

I decided to go the route of an independent yoga teacher and started with building a Gentle Yoga class, a class which felt authentic to me, a slower paced class that allows beginners to feel safe and advanced practitioners a class to slow down in.  It takes time to build up your client list, but you will find the right students.  I am still teaching this class at the Steffen Dance Studio at 673 Topsail Rd, Thursday nights 8:30-9:30 pm.

 

After completing my 200 hr training I also opted to take Meaghan’s Chair Yoga Teacher training which was amazing and wonderful.  I added a morning chair class (Friday 10-11am) to my schedule and later added an evening chair class (Wednesday 7:30-8:30pm) knowing that not all people who want chair yoga are retired!!  I am focusing a lot of my efforts on chair yoga currently as I feel there are so many people that could benefit from it, but they are just not aware that it exists.  This year I have been involved with two events with the Canadian Diabetes Association, most recently in November 2015 where I taught a short class to about 50 people!  I reached out to the MS Society and met with them to discuss chair yoga and gave a free class.  I plan to reach out to the Arthritis Society and Heart and Stroke as well.  My Chair classes are held at the Steffen Dance Studio as well.

 

I also teach corporate classes with Definitions and the Department of National Defence.  I travel to different offices and provide lunch (or afternoon) yoga classes.  This is a fun additional to my schedule and offers a stable income.

 

I currently teach 10 classes a week which certainly keeps me busy, but each day I wake up happy and excited to teach.  The most important thing has been keeping up with my own practice (which I struggle with from time to time) and additional training to specialize in the type of teaching I want to do.  In addition to Chair Yoga training, I completed a 40 hr Restorative teacher training with Andrea Peloso and a 10 hr Alignment Based Therapeutic training with Barrie Risman.
You can find me on Facebook at “Megan Morgan Yoga,” online at meganmorganyoga.wordpress.com or email meganmorgan83@gmail.com

 

Thank you Megan for sharing your experience with us!

If you’d like to become a yoga teacher read more about our Yoga Alliance registered program here. Or, like us on Facebook for regular updates.

Leave a comment